The Forest Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit that works to educate all Californians about the benefits of sustainable forestry. Our mission is to foster public understanding of forest ecosystems in California by providing balanced, science-based information on environmental, economic, and societal uses of forest resources for present and succeeding generations.

Our Board is made up of educators, foresters, environmental lawyers, bankers and community citizens:

Board members

  • Brenda Washington Davis    The Brenda Davis Law Group

  • Arne Hultgren    Land Vest

  • Mark Luster    Sierra Pacific Industries

  • Paul Violett    Soper-Wheeler Company

  • Rebecca Fabisch Miller    Umpqua Bank

  • Phil Battaglia    W. M. Beaty & Associates

  • Lloyd Bradshaw    Hearst Forests, LLC

  • Niel Fischer, Esq.   Collins Pine Company

  • Paul Chapman    Campbell Global

  • Chris Chase    Timber Products Company

  • John Helms    UC Berkeley, College of Natural Resources (Ret.)

  • Mike Jani    Mendocino Redwood Company

  • Gary Rynearson    Green Diamond Resource Company

  • William J. Thomas    Churchwell White LLP

  • Joshua Strauss    Blue Source

  • Rich Gordon    California Forestry Association

  • Richard Engel    UC Davis


  • Jann Taber Executive Director

  • Tanya Wermund    Program/Marketing Coordinator